Mid North Coast District Golf Association

2013 Pennants Finals

August 03, 2013 at 7:43 AM


Bonville have claimed consecutive Mid North Coast District Division 1 titles with a hard fought victory again Coffs Harbour. The Final played at Grafton Golf Club last Sunday saw Bonville triumph by 3 matches to two. Ryan Woodlock and Billy Stocks got Coffs off to a good start with impressive victories over Grant Rickwood and Paul Gallagher respectively. However, the word around the course was that Bonville were faring much better in the other matches. That proved the case with both Tim Hyland playing at number three defeating Jack Pountney and Adam Wood at number one accounting for Tom Major. The contest was now locked at two all  and the crowd gathered to  gather to watch Daniel Palin and Brandon Conner play the 18th hole. The pressure was on but Bonville clinched the trophy when Palin sank and pressure two metre putt to close out a 1up victory. The winning team was Adam Wood, Paul Gallagher, Tim Hyland, Daniel Palin and Grant Rickwood.


Bonville Div 1 winners l to r - Grant Rickwood, Paul Gallagher, Tim Hyland, Adam Wood, Daniel Palin


Coffs Harbour Division 1 - David Rook, Brandon Connor, Bill Stocks, Tom Major, Jack Pountney, Ryan Woodlock



The Division Two was a repeat of last year’s final with Coffs Harbour playing Bonville. Both teams fielding completely different lineups however the competition was once again nail biting to the end. Ken McNally (Coffs) and Tony Palin (Bonville) were the non-playing captains and juggled their lineups to try and gain any advantage in looking for a victory. The early matches appeared to be going the way of Bonville however a great comeback from John Nichols over an unlucky Craig Lang gave Coffs a good start. Josh Biggin showed he is a player of the future in defeating another junior in Zach Ion and suddenly Coffs were two to the positive. Jack Hickey playing for Bonville had an outstanding win over Bruce Silvia and the result was now down to the last two matches. Andrew Frawley proved the trump card when he won his match and Coffs took victory. Brad Daymond claimed a consolation win with the final score being three matches to two. The winning Coffs team was Ken McNally, Andrew Frawley, Bruce Silvia, Troy Herbert, Josh Biggin and John Nichols.


Coffs Division 2 - Ken McNally, Troy Herbert, Bruce Silvia, Andrew Frawley, John Nichols, Josh Biggin


Bonville Division 2



In the Division 3 clash Sawtell came up against Coffs Harbour. After nine holes the matches were all very even and as in most finals that continued well into the back nine. Cameron Arnold gave Sawtell its first on the board winning 3 and 2 over Graham Cowling. Brian May equaled things for Coffs defeating Matt Bolt. Steve Sharp playing in the number one spot for Sawtell had a commanding lead over Don Gordon finishing the match with a 5 and 4 victory. Needing only one more victory for the title, the steady play of young gun Aaron Carroll, saw him defeat Mike Cragg and give Sawtell the title. Sawtell Team Captain Scott Devoy showed great spirit to fight back against Peter Bayley however the Coffs player claimed a consolation victory. The final score Sawtell 3 defeated Coffs 2


Sawtell Division 3 winners - Cameron Arnold, Scott Devoy, Matt Bolt, Travis Maloney, Aaron Carroll, Steve Sharp


Coffs Harbour Div 3 runnerup - Brian May, Graham Cowling, Don Gordon, Peter Bayley, Mike Cragg



The perfect day is the way to describe the Sawtell victory in Division 4. As the matches progressed Sawtell players were in great form and their Coffs Harbour opponents were doing all they could to hang on. John Arnold was the first Sawtell player to claim a victory and playing more like a Division one player he soundly defeated Brian Pollard. Mark Carroll was too strong for Coffs captain Alan Phillips and his win included a perfect chip in for birdie on the 12th hole. Phil Jacobson held a three up lead at the turn and turned that into a 5 and 4 victory over John Currie. Sawtell had already claimed the title when Tom O’Shea defeated Chris Stocks on the last hole and despite defiance from Coffs Harbour’s Bob Shepherd, Sawtell completed the whitewash and fittingly the last win went to Team captain John Burley. The final score was Sawtell 5 Coffs Harbour 0


Sawtell Division 4 Winners - Tom O'Shea, Mark Carroll, John Burley, John Arnold, Phil Jacobson


Coffs Harbour div 4 Runnerup - Brian Pollard, Bob Shepherd, Alan Phillips, John Currie, Chris Stocks



Final score Dorrigo 3 Woolgoolga 2


Dorrigo Division 5 champions
Back row - Mitch Beaumont, Kevin Coombes, Gordon Kovacevic
Front - Eric Moore, Grant Lawler



Final score Urunga 3 Macksville 2


The Urunga team was David Tully, Allan Thomas, Tod Riley, Kim Michelson, Dave McBarron


Macksville team was Paul Laverty, Trevor Kennedy, Roy Rudner, Robert Marshall, Phil Smith


Kim Michelson (Urunga Captain)  Kevin Edmonds (MNCDGA)


Back To Previous Page

Top of Page